There is no better way to experience love and
compassion than by helping those in need,
a call Knights answer every day.


Knights banded together can accomplish more
than any of us could accomplish individually
in support of our Church and priests.


Knights socialize together and take care of each other –
we have each others’ back.



Members of the Knights of Columbus are proud
of our devotion to God and country,
and believe in standing up for both.

Knight of the Year Archives

The Knight of the Year is an award presented to the most outstanding Knight for the fraternal year which ends June 30th of each year.

Nomination Process

  1. During the May general meeting all nominations are accepted.
  2. Each Knight present at this meeting is asked to place three Knights in nomination via secret ballot for the Knight of the Year award.
  3. These votes are then tabulated by the Grand Knight, Deputy Grand Knight and Chancellor, with the top three in vote count presented for final vote during the June general meeting; again by secret ballot.
  4. The winner is announced during the Awards dinner sometime in July or August.


Requirements to be nominated and elected as the Knight of the Year:

  1. Minimum of three years of membership.
  2. Must be in good standing (dues current).
  3. Must have served as a Director, Officer or Committee Chairman before nomination.
  4. Must be a 3rd Degree member
  5. Must try to participate in the majority of Knight events and functions.
  6. Willing to be proactive; someone who takes initiative.
  7. Attends and participates in monthly meetings when possible.
  8. The Grand Knight is not eligible during his time in office.
  9. Parish and community participation to be strongly considered.
  10. Knight of the Year award can be received only once.


  • 1987: Joe Delatte
  • 1988: Jim Kowalski
  • 1989: Wayne Parker
  • 1990: Will Seives
  • 1991: Ben Caturay
  • 1992: Rich Beumer
  • 1993: Tony Perez
  • 1994: Ernie Coy
  • 1995: John Prasifka
  • 1996: Leo Mattingly
  • 1997: Wayne Nacey
  • 1998: Russell Gully
  • 1999: Dick Bates

  • 2000: David Wiss
  • 2001: Marce Tebbe
  • 2002: Ed Vasquez
  • 2003: Chris Kubin
  • 2004: Ron Suriano
  • 2005: Dan Murphy
  • 2006: Ross Musso
  • 2007: Ed O’Brien
  • 2008: Tim Weinrich
  • 2009: David Briggs

  • 2010: Allen Reitmeier
  • 2011: Mike Fitzgerald
  • 2012: Frank Salazar
  • 2013: Andy Goza
  • 2014: Tom Greco
  • 2015: Jim Richardson
  • 2016: Jeff Miller

Officer installation and awards dinner – July 2017

The annual installation of officers for the order’s fraternal year, which begins July 1, and our council’s awards dinner was held in Holy Spirit’s dining room on Saturday, July 8, following the quarterly Corporate Communion Mass at the Saturday 5:30 Mass. The evening’s events culminated with the announcement of SK Jorge Ruiz as the 31st…

Jeff Miller Voted Knight of the Year!

At our Council’s Annual Awards Banquet this past Saturday July 16, 2016, the highlight of the evening was the announcement of the Knight of the Year. In his first official act as our Council’s new Grand Knight, Sir Knight Jim Richardson introduced and bestowed the honor of Knight of the Year to Sir Knight Jeff…

Knight of the Year 2015

election as Council 8157’s Knight of the Year is typically the result of outstanding commitment and service. Jim Richardson, our 29th annual honoree this past summer, sees it from the opposite perspective. Jim said receiving what he considered an unexpected honor presents a challenge to continue to live out the order’s four core values. His…

Jim Richardson named Knight of the Year

  Jim Richardson named Knight of the Year 2014-2015 At the Installation of Officers Ceremony this past Saturday July 11th, 2015, it was announced that the new Knight of the Year Award goes to Sir Knight Jim Richardson. Our sincere congratulations to our worthy Deputy Grand Knight on this well deserved recognition from his peers of Council 8157….

Knight of the Year 2013-2014

Knight of the Year – Tom Greco Moments after Tom Greco was presented with the traditional silver bowl for being named 8157’s 28th annual Knight of the Year, he asked fellow members of the council’s degree team to come up and hold the bowl themselves since they were so much a part of the award….

Installation of 2014-15 Officers and Awards Night

The installation of our 2014-15 officers and the crowning of Tom Greco as the council’s 28th annual Knight of the Year were the highlights of 8157’s annual awards dinner held in Holy Spirit’s community center gym on June 14. Tom has spearheaded the effort that led to the creation of the council’s first degree team…


Knight of the Year Nominees

The Knight of the Year nominees were announced at the May 6th meeting as follows: Tom Greco Pat May Jeff Miller Jim Richardson Congratulations to all four Knights, they are all worthy of the honor. The award recipient will be announced at the June 14th Corporate Communion and Installation of Officers ceremony.

Knight of the Year 2012-2013

Andy Goza – Knight of the Year 2012-2013 he 2012-13 fraternal year was an historic one for Council 8157, from A (Juan Acuna, Ivan Alonso) to Z (Sande Zander, Erasmo Zapata) in terms of adding new brothers to our membership. The council added 41 members, 27 of them recruited by Andy Goza. By meeting our…

Knight of the Year 2011-2012

Frank Salazar was in Florida when it was announced at the annual Awards Banquet that he had been elected as the 2012 fraternal year Knight of the Year.  He was quite emotional when phoned during the awards ceremony and expressed his gratitude for everyone’s support.  Frank was the 23rd winner of the Knight of the…

Knight of the Year 2010-2011

Mike has been a stellar performer this past fraternal year, not only in his position as Treasurer, but in many other activities through-out the year including: helping at every breakfast, helping at every fish fry, working at the ballpark when called upon, helping during all phases of the Fall Festival, helping with the Seminarian cook-out,…

Knight of the Year 2009-2010

Each year, Council 8157 chooses a Knight of the Year and each year an article is published in our newsletter stating the reasons why this person was chosen. It has recently been brought to our attention that an article for Allen Reitmeier, Knight of the Year for 2010 was never written, probably because Allen, who…

to Top